Springing

 

“Life stands before me like an eternal spring with new and brilliant clothes”.

Carl Friedrich Gauss

I love beginnings. Beginnings of stories, life, relationships, and activities. Now with Spring upon us, I’m also loving this new season. Presently, It has been remarkable warm here in Sydney, and I’m soaking up every minute of it!

Spring is the ultimate representation of beginnings. I don’t know what it is about Spring, but it brings with it a renewed sense of hope. The sun somehow seems brighter, everything seems to glisten, the birds sing sweeter, and suddenly beautiful flowers are popping up all over the place, with their sensuous perfumes permeating the air. Everything seems to come alive, and the excitement is palpable in expectant faces. Heavy draped clothes start to peel off, and things start to move faster. I guess this is why they call it Spring, because everything starts “springing” up again after the cold Winter. There really is a “spring” in Spring.

Playing the piano is all about beginnings. Unlike most other instruments, once you strike a key, there is little one can do with the sound, except let it fade. Without pedalling, there is no sustain, only a quick silent end. This has always saddened me about piano music, and music in general. Once played, it is forever gone, apart from what remains in our heart. However, in the moment that it is present, it says so much about what it is to be alive.

For me, the transience of music is a metaphor for life, and a reminder that we cannot really hold onto anything. Eventually, just like Spring, seasons pass. For now, I enjoy the beauty around me, and appreciate it with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

