Peace


“We can never obtain peace in the outer world, unless we make peace with ourselves.” Dalai Lama.

Sounds of lapping water. Blue abounds. Emanating heat broken by gentle winds. I stretch out to engulf surrounding empty space, with nothing to disturb. Alone in tranquility, I am left to my thoughts.

A shadow crosses my mind. I consider the impermanence of everything, including this idyllic moment. It saddens me to know that I cannot somehow preserve this time. My mind starts racing to the future to consider imagined events, particularly pertaining to music training. Equally rapidly I traverse to past comforts, which have been outgrown.

I remember to take a big breath, and quiet my mind. The only gift we really have is the present. I steep myself into my senses, as I try to bring myself to life. As children it seemed so easy. Everything seemed so bright and clear. Blues seemed bluer, and everything abounds with something new. Now, everything seems so automatic and mundane. Our frontal lobes, which are the last part of our brains to develop, seem to have steeped us with tomorrow’s worries and robbed us of today.

I take in my surroundings. I am determined to make the most of this moment in time. I will not concern myself with what will happen in future. Only the time right now really matters. And it is a glorious time indeed!

Leave a Reply

